OLIMEXINO-328 with NHD-0216SZW-BY5-51481

Started by a_horst, April 05, 2018, 06:04:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

a_horst

Hi guys I am quite new to arduino in general, so please excuse if i ask something trivial but searching the web didn't lead to success.   :-\

I am using a Newhaven Display NHD-0216SZW-BY5-51481 connected directly via 22AWG jumper wires to an OLIMEXINO-328 which gets powered via the USB-port of my notebook.

this i my source code:

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>

const int rs = 12, en = 11, d4 = 5, d5 = 4, d6 = 3, d7 = 2;
LiquidCrystal disp(rs, en, d4, d5, d6, d7);

void setup() {
  delay(1000);
  disp.begin(16, 2);
  delay(1000);
  disp.setCursor(0, 1);
  delay(1000);
  disp.clear();
  delay(1000);
  disp.write("Test");
}

void loop() {}

"Test" gets written to the display but then the led 13 blinks 7 times and the board seems to reset.
After this not intended "reset" the screen often shows a bunch of random/magic values (always the same actually).

Has anybody an idea what might cause this?
Thanks already in advance for every helpful though/answer.  :)

EDIT: When I plug it into a usb powersuppy the described doesn't happen.
By pressing the reset button several times i can reproduce it (with each press the LED blinks once).
So my question is now how does it come that after some seconds (~5) I get from the usb port of my laptop some signals which cause the OLIMEXINO to to reset 7 times?

KeesZagers

In my opinion your problem will be solved by changing: void loop(){ delay(1000); }
In the Arduino IDE the SETUP will be executed and after that the LOOP continuously. If there is nothing to do, I guess the CPU gets crazy. Next step ofcourse is placing the display routine within the loop in stead of the setup.

a_horst

Both unfortunately also leads to the same

Could it be that it gets to less current via the usb port?

EDIT: When I plug it into a usb powersuppy the described doesn't happen.